Picture
Caroline (left)
Caroline King worked in advertising before following her true passion: working with kids. She has trained as a Montessori teacher and has been a dedicated Writers’ Room volunteer since before the room even opened—she organized mountains of material onto neatly stacked shelves during the summer renovation. Caroline is now a staple tutor at our Wednesday after-school program. 

Here's what Jacky, age 5, had to say about Caroline, “I love her. She draws inside the lines. And she's good at cutting.”

Chelsea, age 8, interviewed Caroline for this edition of Tutor of the Month.

Chelsea: Where are you from?
Caroline: I am from the United States. I grew up in Minnesota, went to university in Ohio, lived in New York City for seven years, then Portland, Oregon, for three, and now I call Vancouver my home.

When is your birthday?
July 5.

What do you speak?
I speak English and a little bit of Spanish.

How old are you?
I am 35. . . but often I feel as though I’m 24.

Why do you have glasses?
So that I can see better!

Do you like volleyball?
I do like volleyball, however I'm not very good at it. The last time I played on a volleyball team was in junior high.

What sports do you play?
I back-country ski, bike, run, do yoga, hike and rock-climb.
  
Why do you feel like working here as a tutor?
I work as a tutor with Writers’ Room because I really enjoy spending time with children and helping them learn. It is so inspiring to be around so many creative, excited young minds.

9/7/2013 11:24:17 am

First time to your blog and just wanted to say hello.

Reply



Leave a Reply.